Q) How long does it take to get my permit?

A) By Utah statute, Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation has sixty (60) days from the time they start processing your application. DO NOT CALL BCI until at least 60 days have passed, if you mailed it in add another week to the 60 days. You usually see the permit in the mail between day 60 and 65, most of the time.

Q) Do You Provide Fingerprinting and Photos?

A) Yes, we provide the service of fingerprinting (depending on class) and passport size photo.

Q) How Long Does the Class Take?

A)Most classes will take between 4.5 – 5.5 hours. We spend time on the laws and hands on training.

Q) Do I need to bring my Firearm and ammo to the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Class?

A) No. All the material and training aids are provided for the class. Feel free to bring a notebook, snack and a drink.

Q) Is there any way that I can check to see if my criminal history will prevent me from obtaining a concealed firearm permit BEFORE I go through the whole process of applying?

A)Yes. You can come into the BCI office or call by phone and ask to speak with one of the investigators. If you explain to the investigator what type of problem you have had, he can give you a good idea whether you qualify for a concealed firearm permit or not. Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification address: 3888 West 5400 South Salt Lake City, Utah 84118 or call: (801)-965-4445

Q) Is Ammo provided for the Live Fire Classes?

A) No. Students are responsible for providing ammo for the classes. Ammo will be available (depending on supply) for purchase if needed.

Q) Are there any Range fees for the Live Fire Classes?

A) Yes. Range fees are the student’s responsibility to pay. This money is paid to the range for use of the facility. Range fees will be listed in emails students receive for the class.

Q) Do you sell Firearms?

A) Yes, please contact us for current availability and pricing.

Q) Do you do Firearm Transfers?

A) Yes, for in state residents only. If you find a gun you like online have it sent to us to assist you with your transfer. Contact us for additional information needed to provide the company you are purchasing the gun from, they may need a copy of our FFL.  Transfer Fee: $25.00

David Cerchio
Instructor & Owner


  • USCCA Certified Instructor
  • NRA Certified Instructor
  • Utah Concealed Firearms Instructor
  • NRA Range Safety Officer (RSO)

Send me an email with any questions.


Contact US Form

Protect The Homefront
200 W. Parrish Lane, Suite 4
Centerville, UT 84014
Phone: +1 801-512-5224